Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 22, 2023

The Honorable Mike Simpson Chair House Appropriations Subcommittee on Interior, Environment and Related Agencies 2007 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Chellie Pingree Ranking Member House Appropriations Subcommittee on Interior, Environment and Related Agencies 2007 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chair Simpson and Ranking Member Pingree:

Thank you for your longstanding support for preserving America's special places. We write to request that you continue this support by appropriating \$225 million for the Historic Preservation Fund (HPF) for Fiscal Year (FY) 2024. Of the total, we request that \$70 million support State Historic Preservation Offices (SHPOs), \$34 million support Tribal Historic Preservation Offices (THPOs), \$40 million support the Save America's Treasures grant program, \$13 million support competitive grants for Historically Black Colleges and Universities, \$17 million support the Paul Bruhn Historic Revitalization grants, and \$3 million support a competitive grant program to survey and document historic resources. As part of this request, we also support \$28 million for African American Civil Rights Initiative Competitive Grants, \$7 million for the History of Equal Rights grant program to preserve the sites and stories associated with securing civil rights for All Americans, and \$5 million for a competitive grant program to survey and document historic resources in underrepresented communities. Finally, we strongly support \$11 million for the Semiquincentennial grant program to preserve historical sites commemorating the 250th Anniversary of the United States of America.

SHPOs lead efforts to promote our nation's historic and cultural heritage. SHPOs carry out the National Historic Preservation Act, which provides citizens the tools they need to revitalize, rehabilitate, and protect the resources our communities value most. In FY 2021 SHPOs reviewed and consulted on 124,300 Federal undertakings, provided 89,600 National Register eligibility opinions and surveyed 8.5 million acres for cultural resources. SHPOs also assist in administering the Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit program that has created more than 3 million new jobs and leveraged more than \$199 billion in private investment since the program's inception.

THPOs carry out many of the same functions as SHPOs for tribal governments. Just as the SHPOs review federal undertakings on state lands, the THPOs review federal undertakings on tribal government lands. There were only 12 THPOs when they first received funding in 1996. Today, there are more than 200 THPOs, and the average THPO receives several thousand dollars less than when the program first started. Congress and the United States have a responsibility to sustain these services as part of our government-to-government relationship with the tribes, and while funding for THPOs as a category has grown in past years, we must ensure those increases are felt at the level of individual Tribal Historic Preservation Offices as well.

Funding these historic preservation programs is vital for ensuring that the complete story of America is told. Infrastructure investments funded by the bipartisan infrastructure law are also expected to greatly add to the workload of SHPOs and THPOs, so we must ensure these offices are appropriately equipped. Historic preservation is an investment in towns and cities throughout the country that benefit from tourists visiting historic sites and the public and private investment in restoring historic buildings. This funding is both an economic and historical imperative that creates jobs and protects historic resources that might otherwise be lost forever.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

Brian Higgins

Member of Congress

Michael R. June

Michael R. Turner Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Danny K. **b**avis Member of Congress

Garret Graves Member of Congress

4. Stansbur

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Member of Congress

main Gaia

Angie Craig Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

tere Cohen

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

and M. Culli

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Jenniffer González-Colón Member of Congress

Biel Pascrul fr

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

C. Cannol

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Bill Faster

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Brendy Bal

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Mussy Hackhan

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Eleano H. Moton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

hatel

Shontel M. Brown Member of Congress

Rick Lanen

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Whn P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

ah Km

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

Sugance Zon Suzanne Bonamici namia

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Ailan Che

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress , Committee on Ways and Means

Lucy MCBatt

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

OUIN CASTRO

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Jimmy Gomez

Member of Congress

shru

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Wir Kel

Røbin L. Kelly Member of Congress

André Carson

André Carson Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Andy Kim Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

udy Chu Judy Chu

Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

Jakana Hayco

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

James P. Une Donem

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Emilia Strong Sykes Member of Congress

Pauls.tonles

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

f hra

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

in R. Keating

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Jummy Panetta Member of Congress

n. quis Slu

Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congress

Nikki Budzinski



Adam Smith Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

Hillary J. Seholten otto

Hillary J. Scholten Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

jule Shonpon

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

ie Dinsel

Debbie Dingell U Member of Congress

Michael-V. Lawler Member of Congress

Mike Carey Member of Congress

rold Hadlen

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress

-me Rashi

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Troy Carter Member of Congress

Pina Dolate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

atty hannerg

Kathy Manual Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

Madelune

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

May La Scan

Mary Gay Scanlon Member of Congress

be Neguse Member of Congress

E. Us

James E. Clyburn Member of Congress

Symme S. Pusof

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

ames A. Himes Member of Congress

Keiner

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Sail I Bully Carter

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

mistophu R. Jel

Chris Deluzio Member of Congress

Them I had

Jonathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Jared Moskowitz Member of Congress

Kweisi Mfume

Member of Congress