April 27, 2022

The Honorable Chellie Pingree Chairwoman House Appropriations Subcommittee on Interior, Environment and Related Agencies 2007 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable David Joyce Ranking Member House Appropriations Subcommittee on Interior, Environment and Related Agencies 1036 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chairwoman Pingree and Ranking Member Joyce:

Thank you for your longstanding support for preserving America's special places. We write to request that you continue this support by appropriating \$200 million for the Historic Preservation Fund (HPF) for Fiscal Year (FY) 2023. Of the total, we request that \$65 million support State Historic Preservation Offices (SHPOs), \$34 million support Tribal Historic Preservation Offices (THPOs), \$35 million support the Save America's Treasures grant program, \$12 million support competitive grants for Historically Black Colleges and Universities, \$12 million support the Paul Bruhn Historic Revitalization grants, and \$3 million support a competitive grant program to survey and document historic resources. As part of this request, we also support \$24 million for African American Civil Rights Initiative Competitive Grants and \$5 million for the newly established competitive grants programs to preserve the sites and stories associated with securing civil rights for All Americans. Finally, we strongly support \$10 million for the associated with securing the 250th Anniversary of the United States of America.

SHPOs and THPOs lead efforts to promote our nation's historic and cultural heritage. SHPOs carry out the National Historic Preservation Act, which provides citizens the tools they need to revitalize, rehabilitate, and protect the resources our communities value most. In FY 2021 SHPOs reviewed and consulted on 124,300 Federal undertakings, provided 89,600 National Register eligibility opinions and surveyed 8.5 million acres for cultural resources. SHPOs also assist in administering the Historic Rehabilitation Tax Credit program that has created more than 2.9 million new jobs and leveraged more than \$181 billion in private investment since the program's inception.

THPOs carry out many of the same functions as SHPOs for tribal governments. Just as the SHPOs review federal undertakings on state lands, the THPOs review federal undertakings on tribal government lands. There were only 12 THPOs when they first received funding in 1996. Today, there are more than 200 THPOs, and the average THPO receives several thousand dollars less than when the program first started. Congress and the United States have a responsibility to sustain these services as part of our government-to-government relationship with the tribes, and while funding for THPOs as a category has grown in past years, we must ensure those increases

are felt at the level of individual Tribal Historic Preservation Offices as well.

Funding these historic preservation programs is vital for ensuring that the complete story of America is told. Infrastructure investments funded by the bipartisan infrastructure law are also expected to greatly add to the workload of SHPOs and THPOs, so we must ensure these offices are appropriately equipped. Historic preservation is an investment in towns and cities throughout the country that benefit from tourists visiting historic sites and the public and private investment in restoring historic buildings. This funding is both an economic and historical imperative that creates jobs and protects historic resources that might otherwise be lost forever.

Thank you for your consideration.

Sincerely,

Earl Blumenauer Member of Congress

withand the Show

Michael R. Turner Member of Congress

Manette Diar Barro

Nanette Diaz Barragán Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr.

Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Ju Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle

Member of Congress

Anthony G. Brown Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Cheri Bustos Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

OUIN CASTRO

oaquin Castro Member of Congress

Chu Ian. Judy Chu Member of Congress

1 N. Culler

David N. Cicilline Member of Congress

Cohe

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Ua

Angie Craig Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Danny K. **D**avis Member of Congress

Madelune

Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Mall

Mark DeSaulnier Member of Congress

Dwight Evans Member of Congress

Brian K. Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

aTo

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

1. quis

Sylvia R. Garcia Member of Congress

Jenniffer González-Colón Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Garret Graves Member of Congress

and M

Raúl M. Grijalva Member of Congress

ana Haills

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Brian Higgins Member of Congress

ames A. Himes Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Sheila Jackson Lee Member of Congress

Hakeem Jeffries Member of Congress

lanchi

Mondaire Jones Member of Congress

Kaiali' Lahele

Member of Congress

John Katko Member of Congress

Keatin

William R. Keating Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

James K Langevin James R. Langevin Member of Congress

Zane

Rick Larsen Member of Congress

Teresa Leger Fernández Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Member of Congress

Elaine G. Luria Member of Congress

Nicole Malliotakis Member of Congress

way MCBath James

Lucy McBath Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Jerry McNerney Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Joseph D. morelle

Joseph D. Morelle Member of Congress

Seth Moulton Member of Congress

ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

Noton

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

5.

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Kathleen M. Rice Member of Congress

K.n

Deborah K. Ross Member of Congress

Bobby L. Kush Member of Congress

Gregorio Kilili Camacho Sablan Member of Congress

Whn P. Sarbanes Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D. Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Marilyn Strickland Member of Congress

/ homas

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress

igge Mark Jabany

Mark Takano Member of Congress

u mons

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

tonlo

Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Ritchie Torres Member of Congress

Peter Welch Member of Congress

Susan Wild Member of Congress

John Yarmuth Member of Congress

Richard E. Neal Member of Congress

pieceo

& K. Butterfield Member of Congress

Mike Carey Member of Congress

Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett Member of Congress

Bill Gaser

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Member of Congress

C. A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

Karen Bass Member of Congress

Monsy Hackha

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

a Delate

Diana DeGette Member of Congress

Abigail Davis Spanberger Member of Congress

Jam L

Conor Lamb Member of Congress

Hood

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Antonio Delgado Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

Ron Kind Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

Adam Kinzinger Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Mike Levin Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Member of Congress

Jamaal Bowman, Ed.D. Member of Congress

James E. Clyburn

Stacey E/Plaskett Member of Congress

Melanie Stansbury Member of Congress

Majority Whip

Al Lawson Member of Congress

Nikema Williams Member of Congress

A. Donal M'Eac L.

A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress

Jackie Speier Member of Congress