Menu

Directory

Your State Historic Preservation Officer (SHPO) is the appointed official in each of 59 states, territories and the District of Columbia who is responsible for helping to save the places that matter. Whether it is guiding citizens through the process of listing important historic resources or neighborhoods on the National Register of Historic Places, or considering the impact of large renewable energy projects on historic landscapes or archeological sites, your SHPO is your partner in preservation.

AL AK AZ AR CA CO CT DE FL GA HI ID IL IN IA KS KY LA ME MD MA MI MN MS MO MT NE NV NH NJ NM NY NC ND OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VT VA WA WV WI WY DC

Dr. Mark F. Baumler, SHPO
State Historic Preservation Office
1301 East Lockey Avenue
P.O. Box 201202
Helena, MT 59620-1202
Phone: 406-444-7715
Fax: 406-444-6575
E-mail: mbaumler@mt.gov

Deputy: Mr. Peter Brown
Historic Architecture Specialist
Phone: 406-444-7718
E-mail: pebrown@mt.gov

Deputy: Dr. Stan Wilmoth
State Archaeologist
Phone: 406-444-7719
E-mail: swilmoth@mt.gov

Deputy: Ms. Jessica Bush
Compliance Officer
Phone: 406-444-0388
E-mail: jbush2@mt.gov

Deputy: Mr. John Boughton
National Register Coordinator
Phone: 406-444-3647
E-mail: jboughton@mt.gov

Deputy: Ms. Kate Hampton
Community Preservation Coordinator
Phone: 406-444-7742
E-mail: khampton@mt.gov

***No Soliciting Please***

State Historic Preservation Officers, as employees of state governments, cannot endorse, recommend, or suggest the use of any products, companies, or consultants. This State Information and SHPO List may not be used for such purposes.